Byte of Prevention Blog

by Jay Reeves |

Lawyers Honored for Pro Bono and Citizenship

pro bono and citizenship awardsLet’s face it: writing about malpractice and risk management is usually grim work.

But one blogpost is an absolute joy to write, and that’s the annual recap of the winners of the N.C. Bar Association’s citizenship and pro bono awards.

These lawyers and legal organizations represent the best of our profession. They have gone above and beyond their duty to help others. They have made a difference in the lives of our friends, neighbors and fellow citizens. They inspire us all.

Here, then, are the champions who deserve our recognition and praise.

NCBA 2016 Pro Bono Awards

  • Auley M. “Lee” Crouch of Block, Crouch, Keeter, Behm & Sayed in Wilmington (Winner of the William Thorp Pro Bono Attorney Award). He was nominated by George Hausen and Celia Pistolis of Legal Aid of North Carolina.
  • American Immigration Lawyers Association, Carolinas Chapter (Winner of the Chief Justice Award). The group was nominated by Ken Schorr of Legal Services of Southern Piedmont.
  • Kelly Clarke of Legal Aid of North Carolina in Raleigh (Winner of the Deborah Greenblatt Award). She was nominated by George Hausen and Celia Pistolis of Legal Aid of North Carolina.
  • McGuireWoods, with offices worldwide including Charlotte, Raleigh and Wilmington (Winner of the Large Law Firm Award). The firm was nominated by Legal Services of Southern Piedmont and Legal Aid of North Carolina-Charlotte.
  • Everett Gaskins Hancock of Raleigh (Winner of the Small & Medium Law Firm Award). The firm was nominated by Beth Froehling of Campbell Law School.
  • North Carolina Central University School of Law Legal Aid Ambassadors (Winner of the Law Student Group Award). The group was nominated by Page Potter of the NCCU School of Law.
  • Rachel Blunk of Sharpless & Stavola in Greensboro (Winner of the Younger Lawyer Award). She was nominated by Brooks Jaffa of Cranford, Buckley, Schultze, Tomchin, Allen & Buie in Charlotte.

NCBA Citizen Lawyer Award

This award was established in 2007 to recognize lawyers who provide exemplary public service to their communities. Honorees include elected and appointed government officials, coaches, mentors and voluntary leaders of nonprofit civic and community organizations.

The 2016 recipients are:

  • Gill P. Beck, United States Department of Justice, Asheville
  • Ashley H. Campbell, Ragsdale Liggett, Raleigh
  • Judge Richard L. Doughton, N.C. Superior Court, Sparta
  • Arnita M. Dula, City of Hickory, Hickory
  • Debra L. Foster, Debra L. Foster, PA, Charlotte
  • Jacqueline D. Grant, Roberts & Stevens, PA, Asheville
  • Sonny S. Haynes, Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice, LLP, Winston-Salem
  • Marc L. Isaacson, Isaacson Isaacson Sheridan Fountain & Leftwich, LLP, Greensboro
  • Pamela W. McAfee, U.S Bankruptcy Court for the Eastern District of NC, Raleigh
  • Judge Rickey McKoy-Mitchell, N.C. District Court, Charlotte
  • Nancy Black Norelli, Norelli Law PLLC, Charlotte
  • J. Troy Smith Jr., Ward and Smith, PA, New Bern
  • James R. Van Camp, Van Camp Meacham & Newman PLLC, Pinehurst

Congratulations to all the honorees. They will be recognized in June at the 2016 NCBA Annual Meeting in Charlotte.

Do you know a lawyer or legal group that is worthy of recognition? Send us a comment telling who and why.




About the Author

Jay Reeves

Jay Reeves practiced law in North Carolina and South Carolina. He was Legal Editor at Lawyers Weekly and Risk Manager at Lawyers Mutual. He is the author of The Most Powerful Attorney in the World, a collection of short stories from a law life well-lived, which as the seasons pass becomes less about law and liability and more about loss, love, longing, laughter and life's lasting luminescence.

Read More by Jay >

Related Posts