Everything you need to know about our upcoming CLE seminars
Every year Lawyers Mutual hosts our Put Into Practice: Risk Management Tips for Your Firm series. This year’s seminar will highlight topics such as:
- Mastering Conflicts of Interest Issues
- Technically Speaking: Tips, Apps, Games, and Resources to Create a Fun, Efficient, and Ethical Law Practice
- Hindsight is always 50/50 – It’s Never as Clear as You Thought it Was. What Can Learn from the Fate of Others?
Our CLE programs are free for Lawyers Mutual insureds and their paralegals/staff. This year’s CLE series will kick-off on October 18th in Asheville, NC. Whether you attend every year or are looking to attend a seminar for the first time, here are a few frequently asked questions along with the answers to help you prepare for our programs. We look forward to seeing you there!
Is there a fee to attend a Lawyers Mutual CLE?
A | Firms and their staff who have professional liability coverage with Lawyers Mutual may attend for free. Uninsured attorneys will be charged $150 and uninsured paralegals and staff will be charged $35.00
What is your cancellation policy for registrants?
A | Please notify us as soon as possible if you are unable to attend the program as some locations sell out. Refunds for non-insured registrants will be issued via check for written cancellations received by Lawyers Mutual at firstname.lastname@example.org 10 or more business days prior to the date of the seminar. No refunds will be issued after this deadline.
What are my required hours during the MCLE reporting period?
A | The North Carolina State Bar requires attorneys complete 12 hours of mandatory continuing legal education, or MCLE, during the reporting period. Two of the 12 hours must be in the area of professional responsibility or professionalism (ethics). At least once every three calendar years, an additional hour of professional responsibility devoted exclusively to substance abuse and/or mental health is required.
Click Here for more information on CLE Requirements in North Carolina from the NC State Bar's CLE website.
How Many Ethics Credit Hours Do I Need?
A | Two of the 12 hours must be in the area of professional responsibility or professionalism (ethics). At least once every three calendar years, an additional hour of professional responsibility devoted exclusively to substance abuse and/or mental health is required.
How many Substance Abuse/Mental Health credit hours do I need?
A | At least once every three calendar years, an additional hour of professional responsibility devoted exclusively to substance abuse and/or mental health is required.
I completed a CLE a couple of weeks ago, why is it not showing up through the State Bar?
A | We try to submit the CLE credit within two weeks of the program, however, the NC State Bar gives Lawyers Mutual a 30-day deadline from the date of the program to report attendance. There are varying circumstances that may delay this process; Lawyers Mutual will work diligently to process the attendance as soon as possible. Once the State Bar receives our report, their processing time varies.
What if I arrive late to a CLE or need to leave early?
A | If you miss a portion of a CLE program, you must complete and submit a Partial Credit Certification Form, which is available at the registration desk the day of the program. Completed Partial Credit Certification Forms can be returned at the CLE registration table or mailed/emailed/faxed in following the program.
How do I download my manuscript?
- Go to www.lawyersmutualnc.com
- Click on CLE button
- Click Manuscripts button
- Click the CLE program title (this will open the PDF of the manuscript)
Download to your device (laptop, tablet) what you wish to bring to the CLE program and reference in your practice.
Or, if you prefer, print out the materials. (Warning – these are often large files.)
I am licensed in another state as well as North Carolina. What should I do to seek credit in that state for a CLE I take in North Carolina?
A | Please contact us at email@example.com or 800.662.8843 (ask for Sharon Sparrow) and request an Out-of-State Certificate of Attendance. You must self-report your own credit to the other state. This form is also available at the registration desk the day of the program.
I am a paralegal and I attended a CLE but cannot find my Paralegal Certificate of Attendance. What should I do?
A | Please email Sharon Sparrow at sharon@lawyersmutual and she will forward a certificate to you.
Click here to register!