Byte of Prevention Blog

by Lawyers Mutual |

Enterprise Justice eCourts Filing System Coming to Central and Western Carolina Counties

In a March 23, 2024, press release, the Administrative Office of the Courts announced that the rollout for eCourts will continue with 10 new counties from the North Piedmont/Triad region converting over on April 29, 2024, and 11 new Western counties moving to eCourts starting July 22, 2024.

The North Piedmont/Triad counties making the switch on April 29 are: Alamance, Chatham, Durham, Franklin, Granville, Guilford, Orange, Person, Vance, and Warren counties. The Western counties converting on July 22 are: Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Polk, Swain, and Transylvania.

Currently, 17 counties have made the conversion from paper filings to Enterprise Justice, a platform that provides online access to digital courthouse records. The state’s two largest counties, Wake and Mecklenburg, and its two smallest, Hyde and Tyrrell, are currently live on Enterprise Justice.

“The eCourts transition is the most important access to justice project in the history of the North Carolina court system, and the benefits to the public of replacing paper records with digital access are immense,” said NCAOC Director Ryan Boyce.

You may access the eCourts FAQs here and find additional information about eCourts on the North Carolina Judicial Branch website.     

About the Author

Lawyers Mutual

Lawyers Mutual, founded in 1977, is the first lawyers mutual insurance company in the country and has provided continuous professional liability coverage to North Carolina lawyers for 40 years. Its reputation for leadership, professionalism and commitment to its attorneys sets the standard for other legal malpractice insurance providers. For more information, call 800.662.8843, follow us on Twitter @LawyersMutualNC, connect on our LinkedIn page, like us on Facebook

Read More by Lawyers >

Related Posts